​Through The Lower  Skies (Guest post)

wp-1475201101752.jpeg

“Wowww!…” I couldn’t hold back the fascination that poured in as I surveyed the landscape. The view was breathtaking. We were right at the top of a waterfall. My heartbeat must have sounded louder than the rush of waters beneath us. I tried to contain the thrill I felt dancing through my veins only to be betrayed by my eyes. They were wide with exhiliration. I glanced at him.

“This is awesome!” I exclaimed.

“I know” he replied, giggling just as I was doing.

I looked at the skies, they looked closer now. With the rushing wind swaying my curly hair and floral dress, I felt I could fly.

“I know what you’re thinking” came his rich falsetto, this time interrupting my thoughts.

“What?” I asked, curious at what his reply would be.

“Um, flying?” He said looking into my eyes.

I was bemused. “How did—?” I was trying to say something before he interjected.

“It’s in your eyes. And I’ve always felt that way too, the few times I’ve been up here”.

Now our eyes were locked on each other and I felt something twinge on my inside.

“Come” he beckoned, stretching forth a hand towards me.

Now my heart was beating faster. I moved slowly towards him and eventually took his hand. I felt him wring it. He smiled at me and I responded with a tensed smile. Then he started leading me towards the edge of the waterfall.

“What are we doing?” I asked with a little shade of trepidation. He wore a grin that seemed foreign and responded “Why stay far away when you can have a closer look?”

We kept walking, but I stopped without his consent when I noticed we had gotten close enough to the edge, then hastily, I glanced down. Gosh, it was more than amazing.

“This is awesome!”. I exclaimed, beaming with bewilderment.

“I know, right?” he said. “I can’t help but wonder what being in that water would feel like though”.

He honestly couldn’t have meant that, right? But then I searched his eyes…and oh my, he did! The look in his eyes showed he had meant every word.

“How about you?”, he asked me.

“Huh?” came my throaty response even though I had clearly heard the question. “Well, I would like to have the experience of swimming in water that vast, but only in my wildest dreams. There is no way I’m ever going to jump from way up  here into water way down there! That’s plain crazy…and dangerous” I concluded my speech, with my heart racing fast. He still wore that grin that unnerved me.

“You’ll be safe with me” he said.

“Ha-ha”, I chuckled. “Cute line honey, but no way!” I retorted.

Sustaining a fixed gaze into my eyes he said, “Trust me…and don’t let go of my hand”.

Before I knew what was happening, he had taken a jump and was pulling me along. I shut my eyes in an instant  and couldn’t hold back the thoughts that came next, rushing through my tender mind.  “We are going to die, we are going to die, there’s no way we are going to survive this. I’m dead… This is the end of our love story. How tragic, so tragic…death, oh death…”

I landed hard and instead of feeling water penetrate through my  ears  and nostrils. I felt pains all over my body as though I landed on a hard floor. I opened my eyes to find myself in my bedroom. I had rolled over from the bed and landed on the floor of my room. I glanced back at the bed to find my sister now fully awakened by the loud thud. She stared blankly at me for what seemed like a few seconds, probably trying to get a grisp of the situation and then burst into uncontrollable laughter.
#Rayo_TheWriter

Leave a Reply

