In A World Where Bad Things Happen

IMG-20160626-WA0001

Last week, I stumbled on a sad news on Instagram…I was actually checking out for something else when I saw a photo of her appear before my eyes and below it was a caption of what had happened to her. I’d never known this girl before, I’d never read any of her books before, but the news of her death hurt my heart so bad…it hurt me so bad like she were my own flesh and blood. My heart sank, and my mind couldn’t stop thinking about her. I was hurt for her family…her friends…her faithful readers…I was hurt for those who loved her truly, so I did the only thing I knew I could do at the time – I prayed for her family…I prayed for them with all of my heart. I prayed for them like I knew them. I prayed for them like they knew me.

But that’s not all my story.

Again last year, I was checking out online for this couple who used to own an amazing restaurant. I’d been following their TV show for quite a while. They were a couple who really inspired me. They loved the Lord, they loved each other, and they loved their family. But last year, as I typed in their names in the ‘search space’ on Google I was surprised at the first thing I saw. How did it even happen? Why did they get divorced? I read the story online and my heart was sad beyond words. I couldn’t believe it. Why do things like this happen? Why do people make bad choices? Why are people so insecure…so insecure that they let it get to their own family? My heart was hurt and my mind thought about them for a long while – especially about the woman. I did the only thing I could do at the time – I prayed for them…with all of my heart, I prayed for them.

My purpose and reason for writing the above stories is to let you know that bad things still happen – yes they do. And sometimes we just can’t explain why…sometimes, we just can’t seem to comprehend how it all went wrong. Of course I’m not here to scare you or to feed you with negativity but I’m actually writing this to remind you that in the midst of all the bad happenings, you still have every reason to believe, to see and to know that God is Good. You still have every reason to believe that God is All-powerful and that He will keep you safe in a world where things aren’t that safe. You still have every reason to believe that your own marriage will work regardless of how many people keep getting divorced. Now, I’m not saying I blame all couples who get divorced…I understand that sometimes some things go very wrong and people make their decisions…but I’m just saying that I won’t let myself feel discouraged by the number of divorces that keep occurring.

We have to remember and believe that our God is stronger than the dangers of this world. Our God will keep us because He is more than able to keep. Our God will always have our health in mind, our going out in mind, our coming in in mind. Our God will do just what He says He will do. And please don’t ask me why bad things happen. I don’t have the answer. I don’t entirely know. I guess it’s just the world we live in and the choices people make…and maybe some other reasons too – I honestly don’t know. However, regardless of all the things that keep happening, l choose to hold on to this one thing till I die: That God is forever Good. And that God is forever my Rock, my Shelter and my Safety.

So look to Jesus today and don’t let the fear of things happening around get the best of you. Tell Him how you feel. Tell Him why you feel afraid. Tell Him what you feel afraid about. Be vulnerable with Him. Pray to Him, He will hear you and He will answer you.

Leave a Reply

